Loading... Please wait...

About Us

The initiative to establish a library association was led by Mr. A. S. Bryant, the first Director of the Jamaica Library Service, as such a body was regarded as an 'essential part of library organisation in the island.' Accordingly in 1949, a year after the Jamaica Library Service was established, the Provisional Library Board approved the convening of a meeting of all persons working in libraries or having an interest in library development. The meeting was a success as 94 persons met at the St. Catherine Parish Library on July 14, 1949 and passed a resolution that the Jamaica Library Association be formed.

To provide leadership in the development, promotion and mobilization of personnel, institutions and resources in the information field in order to encourage learning and facilitate access to information.


The Jamaica Library Association was founded to:-

- Unite all persons engaged in or interested in library work in Jamaica and provide opportunities for their meeting together to discuss matters relating to libraries.

- Encourage co-operation between libraries and promote the active development and maintenance of libraries throughout Jamaica.

- Promote a high standard of education and training of library staff and work towards improving the status of librarians.

- Promote a wider knowledge of library work and to form an educated public opinion on libraries.

The affairs of the Association are managed by an Executive Committee of not more than fifteen(15) members. The officers of the Association comprise the President, the Immediate Past President, not more than two Vice-presidents, the Honorary Secretary and the Honorary Treasurer.

2015 Executive 

The Association organizes (a) regular meetings, (b) professional meetings, (c) seminars and workshops and (d) conferences. The Association hosts an Annual General Meeting in January of each year. Regular meetings are held at least three times a year. Meetings of the Executive are held as often as is necessary for the transaction of business.